2011-12 GUIDE TO IMMUNIZATIONS REQUIRED FOR SCHOOL ENTRY
Idaho

Preschool & Grades K-12 [

REFERENCE Section 39-4801, Idaho Code: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Rules, IDAPA 16, Title 02,
Chapter 15 “Immunization Requirements for Idaho School Children.”

INSTRUCTIONS Post this guide on a wall or desktop as a quick reference to help you determine whether children
seeking admission to your school meet Idaho’s school immunization requirements. If you have any
guestions, contact the Idaho Immunization Program or visit www.immunizeidaho.com.

IMMUNIZATION To enter or transfer into public or private schools, all children in preschool and grades K-12 must
REQUIREMENTS meet immunization requirements outlined below at registration and before attendance. No child
shall attend school without proof of immunization status.

MINIMUM IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL ENTRY

Immunization Requirement by Age Doses of Vaccines Required

4) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)
1) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)

Children born on or before September 1, 1999 must have a
minimum of:

3) Hepatitis B

5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)’
2) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)

(4)
(1)
3)
3)
Children born after September 1, 1999 through September (5)
(2)
(3) Polio
3)
(5)
(2)
(4)
3)
(2)

1, 2005 must have a minimum of:

3) Hepatitis B

5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)’
2) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)

Children born after September 1, 2005" must have a
minimum of:

3) Hepatitis B
2) Varicella (Chickenpox)*
(2) Hepatitis A

7" GRADE IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS

Immunization Requirement by Grade Doses of Vaccines Required
Children admitted to 7" grade during or after the 2011-2012
school year must meet the following minimum immunization
requirements in addition to school entry requirements:

(1) Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis (Tdap)
(1) Meningococcal

1. Preschool children need only be age-appropriately immunized with the required vaccines.

2. DTaP: The 5" dose is not necessary if the 4™ dose was administered at age 4 years or older.

3. Polio: The 4™ dose is not necessary if the 3™ dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose.
4. Varicella: History of chickenpox disease documented by a physician or licensed health care professional meets the requirement.

EXEMPTIONS Idaho law allows a parent/guardian to claim an exemption from immunization requirements for their
child for medical, religious, or personal reasons. All exemptions must be documented on the official
State of ldaho form provided by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Immunization
Program. A medical exemption requires the signature of a licensed physician and certification that
the child has a medical condition which prevents him or her from receiving required vaccinations.
The law does not allow parents/guardians to claim an exemption because the shot record is lost or
incomplete, or because it is too much trouble to contact the physician or clinic and obtain a copy.
Schools should maintain an up-to-date list of pupils with exemptions so they can be excluded quickly
if an outbreak occurs.
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CONDITIONAL The Schedule of Intended Immunizations Form is required by IDAPA 16.02.15 to document the

ADMISSION intended immunization schedule of a child who has not received all required immunizations for
school admission. To be eligible for conditional admission, a child must have received at least one
dose of each required vaccine and currently be on schedule for subsequent immunizations following
the intervals listed below. Failure to receive still-needed doses of required vaccines as indicated on
the Schedule of Intended Immunizations Form will result in exclusion of the child from school until
the child is back on schedule with no required vaccine doses due.

ABBREVIATED CATCH-UP IMMUNIZATION SCHEDULE

(for full version, visit www.immunizeidaho.com)

Minimum Minimum Interval Between Doses
Vaccine Age for
Dise 1 Dose 1 to Dose 2 Dose 2 to Dose 3 Dose 3 to Dose 4 | Dose 4 to Dose 5

DTaP 6 wks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months 6 months!
Polio 6 wks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months?
MMR 12 mo 4 weeks
Hepatitis B Birth 4 weeks 8 weeks3
Varicella 12 mo 3 months
Hepatitis A 12 mo 6 months
Tdap Booster 7 yrs 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months

if first dose is administered at if first dose is

younger than age 12 months administered at

6 months younger than age 12
if first dose is administered at months
age 12 months or older

Meningococcal 2yrs 8 weeks

1. DTaP: The 5" dose is not necessary if the 4™ dose was administered at age 4 years or older.
2. Polio: The 4™ dose is not necessary if the 3™ dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose.
3. Hep B: Minimum age for the 3" dose is 24 weeks and at least 16 weeks after first dose.

DOCUMENTATION All children must present a valid immunization record to school officials, unless exempted.

What is it? A valid immunization record is an electronic medical health record, an immunization
registry document, or a written immunization certificate confirmed (signed, stamped, or provided
on official letterhead) by a licensed health care professional which states the month, day, and year
of each immunization a child has received. A record with check marks instead of dates or saying
only “up-to-date,” “all requirements met,” or “series complete” is inadequate and may not be
accepted. The record must show that all required vaccine doses have been received and minimum
ages and intervals have been met. Laboratory proof of immunity to a disease for which a vaccine is
required is valid and meets the requirement for that disease. For varicella, a statement by a licensed
health care professional indicating the child has had chickenpox disease meets the requirement.

Who must present it? The parent/guardian of a child in preschool and grades K-12 must present
proof of immunization status to the school official. Effective with the 2011-2012 school year,
students entering 7th grade must present a record documenting that 7th grade immunization
requirements have been met. This requirement will be extended to: 7th-8th grade students in 2012,
7th-9th grade students in 2013, 7th-10th grade students in 2014, 7th-11th grade students in 2015,
and 7th-12th grade students in 2016.

When must it be presented? The parent/guardian must present the proof of immunization status at
the time of registration and before attendance for a child entering or transferring into preschool
and grades K-12. Students entering 7th grade must present proof of meeting immunization
requirements before entry into the 7th grade.

What do schools do with it? School staff must carefully review the record to ensure that all
requirements have been met and must retain a hardcopy of the record on file at the school.
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